CERIAS Annual Awards Announced

Wed, April 04, 2012General

Annual awards were announced at the CERIAS symposium on April 3rd.

Professor Marc Rogers, of Computer & Information Technology, won the 2012 Pillar Award. This award, usually given annually, goes to the person (faculty,staff, alumnus, friend of Purdue) who has made a long-term, exceptional effort to support and grow CERIAS. The award recognizes a combination of contributions, including service above and beyond what is expected, and excellence in research and/or education. The award consists of a plaque and commemorative clock.

Faculty members Christopher Clifton (CS), Daniel DeLaurentis(AAE), Arif Ghafoor (ECE), Lorrain Kisselburgh (COM), Robert Proctor (PSY), and Julia Taylor (CIT) were all named as “Fellows of CERIAS.” This designation is awarded to faculty who have demonstrated sustained, significant involvement in Center activities in education, research and service over the prior 3 years. The award includes a certificate and special pin.

Two students — Jeffrey Seibert (CS) and Kevin O’Connor (IT) each received a Diamond Award. This award, consisting of a diamond-shaped trophy, is given to students who are nominated by faculty and chosen by a selection committee. The intent of the award is to recognize students who have thrived under the pressure of their academic program to emerge as “gems” in the field.

Jeffrey received his undergrad degree from Purdue, and is expected to graduate with his PhD this May, working under the supervision of Professor Cristina Nita-Rotaru (CS). Jeff’s dissertation research addresses the use of locality in building distributed systems.

Kevin also received his undergrad degree from Purdue, and is expected to graduate with his MS in 2013. He is working in the Biometrics Lab under the direction of Professor Stephen Elliott (IT). He is working on several topics in biometrics, including standardization issues.

Get Your Degree with CERIAS