CERIAS Faculty Elected to ACM Leadership Positions

Tue, June 12, 2012
  • Dr. Eugene H. Spafford, executive director of CERIAS and professor of computer science, has been elected to the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) council. Dr. Spafford will serve for a four year term as a Member-at-Large.
  • Professor Elisa Bertino was elected to a Member-at-Large position on the ACM SIG Governing Board, a volunteer body that has overall responsibility for the Association’s 34 SIGs.

  • Professor Jan Vitek was elected to serve as the Chair of SIGPLAN, which focuses on Programming Languages. In particular, SIGPLAN explores the design, implementation, theory, and efficient use of programming languages and associated tools. Its members are programming language users, developers, implementers, theoreticians, researchers, and educators. Professor Vitek’s term is July 1, 2012 through June 30, 2015.