CERIAS - Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security

Skip Navigation
Purdue University - Discovery Park
Center for Education and Research in Information Assurance and Security

National Cyber Security Hall of Fame announces Final Selectees for the Class of 2014

Wed, September 10, 2014General

PRESS RELEASE - Baltimore, MD (September 1, 2014) (http://www.cybersecurityhalloffame.com/) Mike Jacobs, Chairman of the Advisory Board for the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame, released the names of 5 innovators who will be enshrined in the Hall of Fame on Thursday, October 30th at a gala at the Four Seasons in Baltimore.

In announcing the inductees, Jacobs, the first Information Assurance Director for the National Security Agency (NSA) and a respected cybersecurity consultant to government and industry said, “these honorees continue to advance our goal of “respecting the past” in addition to representing the best and the brightest of the Cyber industry.” Of the more than 200 nominations reviewed, the board of advisors named 5 inductees to the 2014 Hall of Fame:

Steven M. Bellovin is a professor of computer science at Columbia University, where he does research on networks, security, and especially why the two don’t get along, as well as related public policy issues. Bellovin is the co-author of Firewalls and Internet Security: Repelling the Wily Hacker, and holds a number of patents on cryptographic and network protocols.

Vinton G. Cerf is vice president and Chief Internet Evangelist for Google. He contributes to global policy development and continued spread of the Internet. Widely known as one of the “Fathers of the Internet,” Cerf is the co-designer of the TCP/IP protocols and the architecture of the Internet.

Paul Kocher designed the cryptographic elements of SSL3 back in the mid-1990s, while still an undergraduate at Stanford, thereby gaining him an international reputation for allowing secure Internet transactions. The longevity of SSL3 is a testament to his brilliance, as is the fact that he is entirely self-taught in cryptography.

Richard Alan Clarke is the former National Coordinator for Security, Infrastructure Protection, and Counter-terrorism for the United States. Under President George W. Bush, he served as the Special Advisor to the President on cybersecurity. Mr. Clarke developed and found sponsorship for legislation which created the Cyber Corps and lead the development of the first National Plan for Cyber Security.

Philip R. Zimmermann is the founder of Silent Circle and the creator of Pretty Good Privacy (PGP), the most widely used email encryption software in the world. He is also known for his work in VOIP encryption protocols, notably ZRTP and Zfone.

Nominations were made by qualified organizations engaged in cybersecurity and were ranked and reviewed by the board using established criteria in five categories: Technology; Policy; Public Awareness; Education; and Business. The 2014 class is composed of those individuals who collectively invented the technologies, created awareness, promoted and delivered education, developed and influenced policy and created businesses to begin addressing the cybersecurity problem. Biographies for the 5 inductees will be available at http://www.cybersecurityhalloffame.com/

Tickets for the Cyber Security Hall of Fame Dinner event are $250 and available at: http://www.fbcinc.com/e/cybermdconference/hof.aspx

The National Cyber Security Hall of Fame was established to honor the individuals and organizations with the vision and leadership to create the foundational building blocks for the cybersecurity industry. In addition to Jacobs, the board of advisors includes: Martin Hellman (Hall of Fame inductee inaugural class, 2012); John Grimes (former Chief Information Officer, Department of Defense); Karl Gumtow (CEO & Founder, Cyberpoint International); Susan Landau (Visiting Scholar, Harvard University); Francis Landolf (former Senior Executive, NSA), Robert Lentz (former Chief Information Security Officer, Department of Defense); Carl Landwehr (Hall of Fame inductee inaugural class, 2012); William Newhouse (Cybersecurity Advisor, NIST); Robert Rodriguez (Founder & CEO, SINET); Richard Schaeffer, (former Information Assurance Director, NSA); Corey Schou (Professor of Informatics, Idaho State University); and Brian Snow (former NSA Information Assurance Directorate technical director)

The Hall of Fame motto, Respect the Past: Protect the Future recognizes the history and contributions of those pioneers, innovators and educators who influenced the industry and laid the foundation for the tens of thousands information security and assurance technologists working at universities, federal agencies and businesses today who stand sentry on tomorrow’s cyber security challenges and solutions. Honorees will be featured on the National Cyber Security Timeline with their respective historical milestone.

Previous inductees include:

Class of 2012:

  • F. Lynn McNulty
  • Martin Hellman
  • Ralph Merkle
  • Whitfield Diffie
  • Dorothy Denning
  • Roger Shell
  • Peter Neumann Carl Landwehr Ronald Rivest
  • Adi Shamir Leonard Adleman

Class of 2013

  • David Bell
  • Jim Bidzos
  • Eugene Spafford
  • James Anderson
  • Willis Ware

About the National Cyber Security Hall of Fame

The National Cyber Security Hall of Fame organization has been created and is being supported by companies and organizations committed to recognizing the individuals that played a key role in the creation of the Cyber Security Industry. For more information go to http://www.cybersecurityhalloffame.com/

Get Your Degree with CERIAS